Sawmill Safety Awards Announced

Seven SFPA member sawmills are recipients of the Sawmill Safety Award, recognizing outstanding safety records during 2016.

SFPA lumber manufacturer members are considered for the award based on information submitted regarding occupational injuries and illnesses. Safety performance is judged by how each mill’s safety record stacks up against facilities with comparable lumber output throughout the year. Division I includes sawmills that produce 50 million board feet or less annually; Division II sawmills produce 51 to 150 million board feet; and Division III mills produce more than 150 million board feet. The seven sawmills being honored this year:

Division I
Weyerhaeuser Company – Zwolle, Louisiana
Division II
Canfor Southern Pine – Jackson, Alabama
Weyerhaeuser Company – Holden, Louisiana; Millport, Alabama
Division III
Canfor Southern Pine – Graham, North Carolina
Weyerhaeuser Company – Bruce, Mississippi; Dodson, Louisiana

“All seven mills receiving the award for 2016 recorded perfect safety records, with zero lost-time accidents or injuries,” said SFPA Executive Director Tami Kessler. “We commend these companies that excel at making safety in the workplace a top priority,” she added.
The awards will be presented during Expo 2017 in Atlanta.